Independent booking software comparisons, run from the UKUK edition · Prices checked
US edition

Disclosure We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links, at no extra cost to you. How we make money. Rankings are never paid for.

Best picks · UK edition

The best booking software for therapists and counsellors (UK)

Therapists need private, reliable booking: intake forms before the first session, packages for courses of sessions, and somewhere sensible for client data to live. In the UK, health information is special category data under UK GDPR, so ask each supplier where data is stored and for its data processing agreement. This page is general information, not legal advice.

Prices as ofGBP or USD as published

Best EU-based option

SimplyBook.me

EU company with HIPAA features on Standard and above, reminders and a free plan.

Free plan
Yes: 50 bookings a month, 1 provider
Entry price
From $11.90 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit SimplyBook.me Read our review

Best for clinics with clinical notes

Jane App

Clinical notes, billing and telehealth; UK plans from £29 a month plus a per-practitioner charge.

Free plan
No
Entry price
From £29 per month (+ per practitioner)
VAT basis not stated

Visit Jane App

Best budget option with an EU data centre

Zoho Bookings

Low per-staff pricing; Zoho runs UK and EU data centres.

Free plan
Yes: 1 staff member, 1 event type
Entry price
From $6 per staff/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit Zoho Bookings Read our review

Best for self-hosting

Cal.com

Open source; host it yourself to control where data lives.

Free plan
Yes: 1 user, unlimited event types
Entry price
From $12 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit Cal.com Read our review

How we chose

We compared every tool we track against these criteria, using each vendor's published prices and features as of 2 November 2026. We haven't run hands-on tests of every tool for this edition; see the methodology.

  • Privacy options: a HIPAA BAA, an EU or UK data location, or self-hosting
  • Intake forms, packages and payments
  • Published prices

Side by side

Booking software compared
ToolBest forFree planEntry priceLinks
Acuity Scheduling
Appointments for service businesses
Service businesses: coaches, therapists, salons and studiosNo (7-day free trial)From $16 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Cal.com
Meeting schedulers
Tech-savvy teams, developers and anyone who wants open source or self-hostingYes: 1 user, unlimited event typesFrom $12 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Jane App
Clinics
Allied health clinics: physio, chiropractic and therapyNoFrom £29 per month (+ per practitioner)
VAT basis not stated
Visit site
SimplyBook.me
Appointments for service businesses
Service businesses such as salons, clinics, tutors and fitness; EU-friendlyYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 providerFrom $11.90 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Zoho Bookings
Appointments for service businesses
Budget small businesses and existing Zoho usersYes: 1 staff member, 1 event typeFrom $6 per staff/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site

Features at a glance

Feature matrix
ToolFree planPaymentsSMS remindersUK/EU data angleTeamsAI featuresMarketplaceVideo calls
Acuity SchedulingNo (7-day free trial)Stripe, Square, PayPalFrom StandardNot checkedCalendars by plan (1, 6, 36)AI Booking Assistant (Premium)NoZoom
SimplyBook.meYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 providerStripe, PayPal; POSSMS and WhatsAppEU company (GDPR)Providers by planNot checkedNoZoom
Jane AppNoOwn paymentsNot checkedNot checkedPer practitionerNot checkedNoBuilt-in telehealth
Zoho BookingsYes: 1 staff member, 1 event typeStripe, PayPalNot checkedEU data centre optionPriced per staff memberNot checkedNoZoom
Cal.comYes: 1 user, unlimited event typesStripeNot checkedSelf-host for data controlTeams planCal.ai phone agentNoZoom

'Not checked' means our research didn't confirm the feature either way; it doesn't mean the tool lacks it. Features are from vendor pricing pages and documentation as recorded on 2 November 2026.

Questions people ask

Which booking tools offer HIPAA features?

HIPAA is US law, but some UK practitioners use it as a benchmark. Acuity offers a HIPAA BAA on Premium and SimplyBook.me has HIPAA features on Standard and above. For UK GDPR, ask any supplier for its data processing agreement and where data is stored.

Related

Sources

Prices and features as recorded on 2 November 2026 from these pages (research pass 26 October to 2 November 2026). Prices change: check the vendor's page before you buy. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.