Independent booking software comparisons, run from the UKUK edition · Prices checked
US edition

Disclosure We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links, at no extra cost to you. How we make money. Rankings are never paid for.

Head to head · UK edition

Fresha vs Square Appointments (2026): which should you choose?

Fresha brings marketplace clients and charges for them; Square Appointments is free for one location and makes its money on card payments.

Prices as ofGBP or USD as published

Choose Fresha if

  • You want new clients from a marketplace
  • You want a full salon suite
  • You accept a 20% fee on new marketplace clients

Visit Fresha

Choose Square Appointments if

  • You have a full book and don't need marketplace clients
  • You want a free plan with unlimited staff at one location
  • You already use Square for payments

Visit Square Appointments

Our verdict For an established salon, Square's Free plan is hard to beat on cost. For a new salon that needs clients, Fresha's marketplace may be worth its fee.

Side by side

Fresha vs Square Appointments compared
DetailFreshaSquare Appointments
Best forSalons, barbers and spas, especially in the UKSalons, barbers, spas and any business taking card payments
Free planNo (7-day trial; Fresha used to be free)Yes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)
Entry priceFrom £9.95 per bookable team member/month
ex VAT (£11.94 inc VAT at 20%) Unconfirmed
From £29 per location/month
VAT basis not stated
Currency and taxFresha's UK prices come from third-party guides and still need confirming on fresha.com/en-GB/pricing.Square publishes UK prices in pounds. Its page, as recorded in our research, doesn't say whether VAT is included.
PaymentsOwn paymentsSquare payments (built in)
SMS remindersNot checkedNot checked
HIPAA optionNot checkedNot checked
UK/EU data angleNot checkedNot checked
TeamsPriced per bookable memberUnlimited staff on Free (1 location)
AI featuresAI Concierge add-onNot checked
MarketplaceFresha marketplace (20% new-client fee)Reserve with Google
Open source / self-hostNoNo
Video callsNot checkedNot checked
IntegrationsFresha payments, Google, Instagram and Facebook, Meta PixelSquare point of sale and payments, Google Calendar, Instagram, Reserve with Google
Third-party ratingsCapterra 4.8/5 (1,449 reviews)
Third-party figures as listed around 19 October 2026; not our ratings
Capterra 4.5/5 (263 reviews)
Third-party figures as listed around 19 October 2026; not our ratings
Strengths
  • Consumer marketplace that can bring new clients
  • Full salon suite
  • AI Concierge add-on
  • Free plan with unlimited staff at one location
  • Built-in card payments, POS and no-show fees
  • Native UK pricing in pounds
Weaknesses
  • 20% fee on new marketplace clients
  • Payment processing fees
  • No longer has a free plan
  • You're tied to Square for payments
  • Paid plans are charged per location
  • Not designed for online meetings
VisitVisit Fresha Visit Square Appointments

Plans and prices

Fresha

Fresha plans
PlanPriceBillingUnitTax
Independent Unconfirmed£14.95Same (monthly)per monthex VAT (£17.94 inc VAT at 20%)
Team Unconfirmed£9.95Same (monthly)per bookable team member/monthex VAT (£11.94 inc VAT at 20%)

Square Appointments

Square Appointments plans
PlanPriceBillingUnitTax
Free£0Same (monthly)per location/monthVAT basis not stated
Plus£29Same (monthly)per location/monthVAT basis not stated
Premium£69Same (monthly)per location/monthVAT basis not stated

What each costs for a team

Monthly list cost by team size
ToolFree plan1 person3 people5 peopleBasis
FreshaNo (7-day trial; Fresha used to be free)£9.95
Team
£29.85
Team
£49.75
Team
ex VAT (£11.94 inc VAT at 20%)
Square AppointmentsYes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)£29
Plus
£29
Plus
£29
Plus
VAT basis not stated

Monthly list price for the cheapest paid plan that covers that many people, calculated from published per-user, per-staff or per-calendar prices (arithmetic only, no discounts). Tools priced per location or per calendar cost the same within the plan's limits. GBP where the vendor publishes it, otherwise USD. Free plans may cover you instead; see each tool's limits.

Questions people ask

Which is cheaper, Fresha or Square Appointments?

Fresha: From £9.95 per bookable team member/month ex VAT (£11.94 inc VAT at 20%) Unconfirmed. Square Appointments: From £29 per location/month VAT basis not stated. Check how each one charges (per seat, per calendar or per location) using the team cost table on this page.

Do Fresha and Square Appointments have free plans?

Fresha: No (7-day trial; Fresha used to be free). Square Appointments: Yes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK).

Related

Full reviews: Fresha · Square Appointments

Sources

Prices and features as recorded on 2 November 2026 from these pages (research pass 26 October to 2 November 2026). Prices change: check the vendor's page before you buy. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.