Review · UK edition
Square Appointments review: pricing, features and who it suits
Our verdict The strongest free option for UK salons, barbers and other businesses that take card payments in person: unlimited staff at one location for free, with POS and no-show fees built in. You're tied to Square for payments.
Visit Square Appointments Free plan available
At a glance
- Best for
- Salons, barbers, spas and any business taking card payments
- Free plan
- Yes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)
- Free trial
- Free plan instead
- Entry price
- From £29 per location/month
VAT basis not stated - Currency and tax
- Square publishes UK prices in pounds. Its page, as recorded in our research, doesn't say whether VAT is included.
- Fees
- UK card fee in person: 1.75% on the Free plan, 1.6% on paid plans
- Plan notes and add-ons
- Card readers and hardware available from Square
- Integrations
- Square point of sale and payments, Google Calendar, Instagram, Reserve with Google
- Third-party ratings
- Capterra 4.5/5 (263 reviews)
Third-party figures as listed around 19 October 2026; not our ratings - Checked
- 2 November 2026
Our take
Square Appointments is the booking side of Square's payments platform, so its main advantage is that bookings, card payments and the point of sale live in one place. It can charge no-show fees, it works with Reserve with Google and Instagram, and Square sells card readers and other hardware.
In the UK the Free plan covers one location with unlimited staff, which is hard to beat for a busy salon or barbershop. Plus is £29 and Premium £69 per location per month. Card fees for in-person payments are 1.75% on Free and 1.6% on paid plans, so a paid plan can pay for itself once your card takings are high enough.
The catch is lock-in: you take payments through Square, paid plans are charged per location, and it isn't designed for booking online meetings.
Square Appointments plans and prices
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Tax |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | £0 | Same (monthly) | per location/month | VAT basis not stated |
| Plus | £29 | Same (monthly) | per location/month | VAT basis not stated |
| Premium | £69 | Same (monthly) | per location/month | VAT basis not stated |
Square publishes UK prices in pounds. Its page, as recorded in our research, doesn't say whether VAT is included. Square Appointments pricing in detail.
Strengths
- Free plan with unlimited staff at one location
- Built-in card payments, POS and no-show fees
- Native UK pricing in pounds
Weaknesses
- You're tied to Square for payments
- Paid plans are charged per location
- Not designed for online meetings
Who it suits
- Salons, barbers and spas taking payments in person
- Businesses that already use Square for card payments
- Single-location businesses that want unlimited staff on a free plan
Look elsewhere if
- Anyone who wants to choose their own payment provider
- Businesses that mostly book video calls
- Multi-location chains watching per-location costs
Features
- Payments
- Square payments (built in)
- SMS reminders
- Not checked
- HIPAA option
- Not checked
- UK/EU data angle
- Not checked
- Teams
- Unlimited staff on Free (1 location)
- AI features
- Not checked
- Marketplace
- Reserve with Google
- Open source / self-host
- No
- Video calls
- Not checked
Square Appointments alternatives
- Fresha: Salons, barbers and spas, especially in the UK.
- SimplyBook.me: Service businesses such as salons, clinics, tutors and fitness; EU-friendly.
- Setmore: Budget-conscious small businesses and small teams.
- Booksy: Barbers and beauty professionals.
- Acuity Scheduling: Service businesses: coaches, therapists, salons and studios.
Compare
Questions people ask
Is Square Appointments free in the UK?
Yes. The Free plan covers one location with unlimited staff. Plus costs £29 and Premium £69 per location per month.
What are Square's card fees for appointments in the UK?
For in-person payments, 1.75% on the Free plan and 1.6% on paid plans.
How we reviewed Square Appointments
This review is based on Square Appointments's published pricing and documentation as recorded on 2 November 2026, and on third-party review-site figures, all linked below. We haven't run a hands-on test for this edition, and we don't publish star ratings or user reviews of our own. Rankings and verdicts are never paid for. See the methodology.
Sources
Prices and features as recorded on 2 November 2026 from these pages (research pass 26 October to 2 November 2026). Prices change: check the vendor's page before you buy. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.
- Square Appointments: https://squareup.com/gb/en/appointments/pricing