Independent booking software comparisons, run from the UKUK edition · Prices checked
US edition

Disclosure We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links, at no extra cost to you. How we make money. Rankings are never paid for.

Best picks · UK edition

The best salon booking software in the UK (2026)

Salons need more than a booking link: no-show protection, card payments at the chair, and ideally a way for new clients to find you. The big decision is whether to pay a marketplace (Fresha, Booksy) for new clients or keep costs flat with a payments-led tool like Square.

Prices as ofGBP or USD as published

Best free salon software

Square Appointments

Free for one location with unlimited staff; Plus £29 and Premium £69 per location. Card fees 1.75% in person on Free, 1.6% on paid.

Free plan
Yes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)
Entry price
From £29 per location/month
VAT basis not stated

Visit Square Appointments Read our review

Best for salons that want new clients from a marketplace

Fresha

Full salon suite; 20% one-off fee on new marketplace clients. UK prices still to be confirmed (third-party guides: £14.95 Independent, £9.95 per team member, ex VAT).

Free plan
No (7-day trial; Fresha used to be free)
Entry price
From £9.95 per bookable team member/month
ex VAT (£11.94 inc VAT at 20%) Unconfirmed

Visit Fresha Read our review

Best for barbers

Booksy

Barber-focused marketplace; £40 a month ex VAT for one staff member plus £5 per extra, with all features included.

Free plan
No (trial)
Entry price
From £40 per month
ex VAT (£48 inc VAT at 20%)

Visit Booksy

Best flexible option without a marketplace fee

SimplyBook.me

POS, SMS and WhatsApp reminders and a free plan; USD pricing.

Free plan
Yes: 50 bookings a month, 1 provider
Entry price
From $11.90 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit SimplyBook.me Read our review

Best budget option

Setmore

Free for up to four users; connects to Square, Stripe and PayPal.

Free plan
Yes: up to 4 users
Entry price
From $5 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit Setmore Read our review

How we chose

We compared every tool we track against these criteria, using each vendor's published prices and features as of 2 November 2026. We haven't run hands-on tests of every tool for this edition; see the methodology.

  • Salon features: payments, no-show protection, staff calendars
  • Total cost including marketplace and card fees, not just the subscription
  • Ability to bring in new clients
  • Local pricing published by the vendor

Side by side

Booking software compared
ToolBest forFree planEntry priceLinks
Booksy
Salons and spas
Barbers and beauty professionalsNo (trial)From £40 per month
ex VAT (£48 inc VAT at 20%)
Visit site
Fresha
Salons and spas
Salons, barbers and spas, especially in the UKNo (7-day trial; Fresha used to be free)From £9.95 per bookable team member/month
ex VAT (£11.94 inc VAT at 20%) Unconfirmed
Review · Visit site
Setmore
Appointments for service businesses
Budget-conscious small businesses and small teamsYes: up to 4 usersFrom $5 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
SimplyBook.me
Appointments for service businesses
Service businesses such as salons, clinics, tutors and fitness; EU-friendlyYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 providerFrom $11.90 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Square Appointments
Appointments for service businesses
Salons, barbers, spas and any business taking card paymentsYes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)From £29 per location/month
VAT basis not stated
Review · Visit site

Features at a glance

Feature matrix
ToolFree planPaymentsSMS remindersUK/EU data angleTeamsAI featuresMarketplaceVideo calls
Square AppointmentsYes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)Square payments (built in)Not checkedNot checkedUnlimited staff on Free (1 location)Not checkedReserve with GoogleNot checked
FreshaNo (7-day trial; Fresha used to be free)Own paymentsNot checkedNot checkedPriced per bookable memberAI Concierge add-onFresha marketplace (20% new-client fee)Not checked
BooksyNo (trial)Own paymentsNot checkedNot checked+£5 per extra staff (UK)Not checkedBooksy marketplace (Boost optional)Not checked
SimplyBook.meYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 providerStripe, PayPal; POSSMS and WhatsAppEU company (GDPR)Providers by planNot checkedNoZoom
SetmoreYes: up to 4 usersSquare, Stripe, PayPalPro onlyNot checkedFree for up to 4 usersNot checkedNoZoom

'Not checked' means our research didn't confirm the feature either way; it doesn't mean the tool lacks it. Features are from vendor pricing pages and documentation as recorded on 2 November 2026.

Questions people ask

How much does Fresha charge salons?

A one-off 20% fee on new clients who find you through the Fresha marketplace, plus payment processing fees and the subscription.

What's the cheapest salon booking system in the UK?

Square Appointments' Free plan costs nothing for one location with unlimited staff; you pay card fees on payments instead (1.75% in person on Free). SimplyBook.me and Setmore also have free plans.

Related

Sources

Prices and features as recorded on 2 November 2026 from these pages (research pass 26 October to 2 November 2026). Prices change: check the vendor's page before you buy. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.