Independent booking software comparisons, run from the UKUK edition · Prices checked
US edition

Disclosure We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links, at no extra cost to you. How we make money. Rankings are never paid for.

Best picks · UK edition

The best free booking systems (UK, 2026)

A free plan is only useful if its limit is one you won't hit next month. Here are the free plans we track, with the limit that matters for each, and the tools that only offer a trial.

Prices as ofGBP or USD as published

Best free plan for up to four users

Setmore

Free for up to four users; SMS reminders need Pro.

Free plan
Yes: up to 4 users
Entry price
From $5 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit Setmore Read our review

Best free plan for unlimited event types

Cal.com

One user, unlimited event types; open source.

Free plan
Yes: 1 user, unlimited event types
Entry price
From $12 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit Cal.com Read our review

Best free plan for one type of meeting

Calendly

One event type and one calendar.

Free plan
Yes: 1 event type, 1 calendar
Entry price
From $10 per seat/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit Calendly Read our review

How we chose

We compared every tool we track against these criteria, using each vendor's published prices and features as of 2 November 2026. We haven't run hands-on tests of every tool for this edition; see the methodology.

  • A free plan with no time limit (trials don't count)
  • What the free plan allows: users, bookings, event types, calendars
  • What you get without paying: payments, reminders, integrations

Side by side

Booking software compared
ToolBest forFree planEntry priceLinks
Cal.com
Meeting schedulers
Tech-savvy teams, developers and anyone who wants open source or self-hostingYes: 1 user, unlimited event typesFrom $12 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Calendly
Meeting schedulers
Solo professionals, sales and recruiting teams booking meetingsYes: 1 event type, 1 calendarFrom $10 per seat/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
HubSpot Meetings
Sales teams
HubSpot CRM users and sales teamsYes: free meeting schedulerFrom $15 per seat/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Setmore
Appointments for service businesses
Budget-conscious small businesses and small teamsYes: up to 4 usersFrom $5 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
SimplyBook.me
Appointments for service businesses
Service businesses such as salons, clinics, tutors and fitness; EU-friendlyYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 providerFrom $11.90 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Square Appointments
Appointments for service businesses
Salons, barbers, spas and any business taking card paymentsYes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)From £29 per location/month
VAT basis not stated
Review · Visit site
YouCanBookMe
Meeting schedulers
Solo professionals, universities and small teamsYes: 1 calendar, 1 booking pageFrom $8.10 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Zoho Bookings
Appointments for service businesses
Budget small businesses and existing Zoho usersYes: 1 staff member, 1 event typeFrom $6 per staff/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site

Free plan limits compared

Free plans compared
ToolFree plan limitWhen you outgrow it
Square AppointmentsYes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)From £29 per location/month
VAT basis not stated
SetmoreYes: up to 4 usersFrom $5 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
SimplyBook.meYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 providerFrom $11.90 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Cal.comYes: 1 user, unlimited event typesFrom $12 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
CalendlyYes: 1 event type, 1 calendarFrom $10 per seat/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Zoho BookingsYes: 1 staff member, 1 event typeFrom $6 per staff/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
YouCanBookMeYes: 1 calendar, 1 booking pageFrom $8.10 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
HubSpot MeetingsYes: free meeting schedulerFrom $15 per seat/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Features at a glance

Feature matrix
ToolFree planPaymentsSMS remindersUK/EU data angleTeamsAI featuresMarketplaceVideo calls
Square AppointmentsYes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)Square payments (built in)Not checkedNot checkedUnlimited staff on Free (1 location)Not checkedReserve with GoogleNot checked
SetmoreYes: up to 4 usersSquare, Stripe, PayPalPro onlyNot checkedFree for up to 4 usersNot checkedNoZoom
SimplyBook.meYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 providerStripe, PayPal; POSSMS and WhatsAppEU company (GDPR)Providers by planNot checkedNoZoom
Cal.comYes: 1 user, unlimited event typesStripeNot checkedSelf-host for data controlTeams planCal.ai phone agentNoZoom
CalendlyYes: 1 event type, 1 calendarStripe, PayPalNot checkedNot checkedTeams plan; routingNotetaker and Callie AI (Plus plans)NoZoom, Teams, Meet
Zoho BookingsYes: 1 staff member, 1 event typeStripe, PayPalNot checkedEU data centre optionPriced per staff memberNot checkedNoZoom
YouCanBookMeYes: 1 calendar, 1 booking pageStripeNot checkedUK companyTeam planNot checkedNoZoom
HubSpot MeetingsYes: free meeting schedulerNot checkedNot checkedNot checkedRound robin (paid)Not checkedNoZoom

'Not checked' means our research didn't confirm the feature either way; it doesn't mean the tool lacks it. Features are from vendor pricing pages and documentation as recorded on 2 November 2026.

Questions people ask

Which booking systems have no free plan?

Of the tools we track, Acuity Scheduling, Fresha, SavvyCal and Motion offer free trials instead of free plans. Vagaro, Mindbody, Booksy, Jane and Chili Piper don't have a free plan either.

Is Fresha free?

Not any more. Fresha used to be free; it now offers a 7-day trial and paid plans, and charges 20% on new clients from its marketplace.

Related

Sources

Prices and features as recorded on 2 November 2026 from these pages (research pass 26 October to 2 November 2026). Prices change: check the vendor's page before you buy. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.