Independent booking software comparisons, run from the UKUK edition · Prices checked
US edition

Disclosure We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links, at no extra cost to you. How we make money. Rankings are never paid for.

Best picks · UK edition

The best booking systems for small businesses in the UK

For a small business the two questions are what it costs as you add staff, and whether it handles payments and reminders without extra tools. These picks are ordered for a typical business of one to five people taking client bookings.

Prices as ofGBP or USD as published

Best for teams of up to four on a budget

Setmore

Free for up to four users; Pro is priced per user and cheapest on annual billing.

Free plan
Yes: up to 4 users
Entry price
From $5 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit Setmore Read our review

Best for growing service businesses

SimplyBook.me

Free plan, then Basic, Standard and Premium priced by bookings, providers and features.

Free plan
Yes: 50 bookings a month, 1 provider
Entry price
From $11.90 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit SimplyBook.me Read our review

Cheapest per staff member

Zoho Bookings

Basic and Premium are priced per staff member, with a free plan for one.

Free plan
Yes: 1 staff member, 1 event type
Entry price
From $6 per staff/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit Zoho Bookings Read our review

Best if you mostly book meetings

Calendly

Free plan for one event type; per-seat pricing as you grow.

Free plan
Yes: 1 event type, 1 calendar
Entry price
From $10 per seat/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit Calendly Read our review

How we chose

We compared every tool we track against these criteria, using each vendor's published prices and features as of 2 November 2026. We haven't run hands-on tests of every tool for this edition; see the methodology.

  • Cost for one to five staff, from published per-user, per-staff, per-calendar or per-location prices
  • Free plan or trial
  • Payments and reminders included
  • How easy it is to grow into the next plan

Side by side

Booking software compared
ToolBest forFree planEntry priceLinks
Acuity Scheduling
Appointments for service businesses
Service businesses: coaches, therapists, salons and studiosNo (7-day free trial)From $16 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Calendly
Meeting schedulers
Solo professionals, sales and recruiting teams booking meetingsYes: 1 event type, 1 calendarFrom $10 per seat/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Setmore
Appointments for service businesses
Budget-conscious small businesses and small teamsYes: up to 4 usersFrom $5 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
SimplyBook.me
Appointments for service businesses
Service businesses such as salons, clinics, tutors and fitness; EU-friendlyYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 providerFrom $11.90 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Square Appointments
Appointments for service businesses
Salons, barbers, spas and any business taking card paymentsYes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)From £29 per location/month
VAT basis not stated
Review · Visit site
Zoho Bookings
Appointments for service businesses
Budget small businesses and existing Zoho usersYes: 1 staff member, 1 event typeFrom $6 per staff/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site

What it costs for 1, 3 and 5 people

Monthly list cost by team size
ToolFree plan1 person3 people5 peopleBasis
SetmoreYes: up to 4 users$5
Pro
$15
Pro
$25
Pro
billed annually
Square AppointmentsYes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)£29
Plus
£29
Plus
£29
Plus
VAT basis not stated
SimplyBook.meYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 provider$11.90
Basic
$11.90
Basic
$11.90
Basic
billed annually
Acuity SchedulingNo (7-day free trial)$16
Starter (1 calendar)
$27
Standard (6 calendars)
$27
Standard (6 calendars)
billed annually
Zoho BookingsYes: 1 staff member, 1 event type$6
Basic
$18
Basic
$30
Basic
billed annually
CalendlyYes: 1 event type, 1 calendar$10
Standard
$30
Standard
$50
Standard
billed annually

Monthly list price for the cheapest paid plan that covers that many people, calculated from published per-user, per-staff or per-calendar prices (arithmetic only, no discounts). Tools priced per location or per calendar cost the same within the plan's limits. GBP where the vendor publishes it, otherwise USD. Free plans may cover you instead; see each tool's limits.

Features at a glance

Feature matrix
ToolFree planPaymentsSMS remindersUK/EU data angleTeamsAI featuresMarketplaceVideo calls
SetmoreYes: up to 4 usersSquare, Stripe, PayPalPro onlyNot checkedFree for up to 4 usersNot checkedNoZoom
Square AppointmentsYes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)Square payments (built in)Not checkedNot checkedUnlimited staff on Free (1 location)Not checkedReserve with GoogleNot checked
SimplyBook.meYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 providerStripe, PayPal; POSSMS and WhatsAppEU company (GDPR)Providers by planNot checkedNoZoom
Acuity SchedulingNo (7-day free trial)Stripe, Square, PayPalFrom StandardNot checkedCalendars by plan (1, 6, 36)AI Booking Assistant (Premium)NoZoom
Zoho BookingsYes: 1 staff member, 1 event typeStripe, PayPalNot checkedEU data centre optionPriced per staff memberNot checkedNoZoom
CalendlyYes: 1 event type, 1 calendarStripe, PayPalNot checkedNot checkedTeams plan; routingNotetaker and Callie AI (Plus plans)NoZoom, Teams, Meet

'Not checked' means our research didn't confirm the feature either way; it doesn't mean the tool lacks it. Features are from vendor pricing pages and documentation as recorded on 2 November 2026.

Questions people ask

How much does booking software cost for a team of three?

It depends on how the vendor charges. The table on this page multiplies each published per-user or per-staff price by three; tools priced per calendar or per location (Acuity, Square Appointments) cost the same for a small team as for one person, within the plan's limits.

Related

Sources

Prices and features as recorded on 2 November 2026 from these pages (research pass 26 October to 2 November 2026). Prices change: check the vendor's page before you buy. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.